Studio RSO: Beginners

GROW WITH GREAT MUSIC

Join over 8,000 students who are becoming better musicians today.

The Music Circle

The RSO partners with local early childhood music expert Carla Nelson to offer “The Music Circle” in Roanoke.  The Music Circle is a parent/toddler music class based on well-researched techniques that introduce young children to basic music literacy.  This class will extend our reach to provide music programs to children 0-18 years old.  Carla is over 10 years of experience in teaching early childhood music and we are excited to work with her to offer this resource to the community.

For more information, contact Education Director, Sarah Wardle Jones, at sarah.jones@rso.com or call 540.343.6221 x.231

Roanoke County & Salem After-School String Programs

The Roanoke Symphony Orchestra is proud to partner with Roanoke County Public Schools and Salem City Public schools to offer after-school group violin classes for beginning string players. Classes are held in school facilities and taught by experienced string educators. After completing a course of study in the After School String programs, students are qualified to participate in Roanoke Youth Symphony String Ensemble.

For more information, contact Education Director, Sarah Wardle Jones, at sarah.jones@rso.com or call 540.343.6221 x.231

String Ensemble

The String Ensemble, under the direction of Ms. Michelle Smith, is comprised of beginning-to-intermediate string players, ages 8-15, who rehearse weekly on Tuesdays in Roanoke and perform concerts in public concerts throughout the year. Formerly known as the Junior Strings, the String Ensemble was founded in 1985. Many young string players, after achieving an appropriate level of skill, successfully audition to become members of the RYSO. For many young string players, participation in these ensembles is the first and only opportunity to begin playing in an ensemble under the direction of an experienced conductor.

For more information, contact Education Director, Sarah Wardle Jones, at sarah.jones@rso.com or call 540.343.6221 x.231

Recommended Music Teachers

Violin

Jared Hall
540-759-6370
Roanoke

Martin Irving
540-397-1479
Salem

Liz Lochbrunner
(Beginner/Intermediate)
540-520-9976
Roanoke

Bryan Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Kevin Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Rosalie Opalka
540-343-9023
Roanoke

Nicole Paglialonga
772-332-8397
Blacksburg

Carolyn Peterson
(Beginner/Intermediate)
540-520-7733
Roanoke

Michelle Smith
540-420-0512
kmsmith@rcps.info
Roanoke

Molly Stanley
828-400-3569
mmstanley@rcps.info

Lisa De Vries
540-986-1933
Roanoke

Jane Wang
540-977-0192
Roanoke

Elizabeth Shelor
(Beginner)
Floyd

Viola

Martin Irving
540-397-1479
Salem

Liz Lochbrunner
540-520-9976
Roanoke

Bryan Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Cello

David Feldman
540-797-7878
Lynchburg

Lisa Liske-Doorandish
540-626-5436
Blacksburg

Miriam Liske-Doorandish
703-434-0521
Blacksburg/Roanoke

Matt Majors
703-434-0521
Blacksburg

Kelly Mikkelson
540-291-5169
Lexington

Michelle Smith
540-420-0512
Roanoke

Bass

John Smith
540-982-2883
Roanoke

Flute

Teresa Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Julee Hickcox
540-985-9112
Roanoke

Sarah Wardle Jones
sarahwardlejones@gmail.com
Roanoke/Henry Co.

Deborah Kemper
540-521-2184
djkemper@comcast.net
Salem

Vicki Scarratt
540-392-7800
vscarratt@gmail.com
Blacksburg

Oboe

Jenny Quakenbush
540-772-2262
Roanoke

Teresa Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Clarinet

Timothy Loman
tloman@henry.k12.va.us
Martinsville

Sam Ellenberger
724-757-4499
scellenberger@gmail.com
Roanoke/Bedford

Teresa Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Jeff Midkiff
jmidkiff@rcps.info
Roanoke

Michelle Smith
kmsmith@rcps.info
Roanoke

Bassoon

Barbara Duke
540-382-6694

Teresa Hendrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Rebecca Meisel
540-650-3454
Roanoke

Ryan Romine
rromine@su.edu
Winchester

French Horn

Wally Easter
540-552-4501
Blacksburg

Steve Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Alex Schmitt
703-593-6629
Roanoke

Trumpet

Steve Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Jeff Kresge
540-982-9260
Roanoke

Trombone

Steve Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Tuba

Steve Hedrick
540-989-8777
Roanoke

Piano

Judith Esch
540-238-2322
Roanoke

Roma Scriven
musicnotes@cox.net
Roanoke

Elizabeth Bachelder
bachelde@roanoke.edu
Roanoke

Erica Sipes
540-556-2677
ericasipes1@gmail.com
Roanoke

Deborah Burgess
burgessd@ntelos.net
Martinsville

Sarah O’Brien
thepianoschool@gmail.com
Salem

Guitar

Mike Havens
540-355-0806
mhavens@rcps.info
Roanoke

Kris Hale
540-397-0707
khale@radford.edu
Radford