Studio RSO: Beginners

GROW WITH GREAT MUSIC

Join over 8,000 students who are becoming better musicians today.

Roanoke County & Salem After-School String Programs

The Roanoke Symphony Orchestra is proud to partner with Roanoke County Public Schools and Salem City Public schools to offer after-school group violin classes for beginning string players. Classes are held in school facilities and taught by experienced string educators. After completing a course of study in the After School String programs, students are qualified to participate in Roanoke Youth Symphony String Ensemble.

For more information, contact Community Engagement Education Coordinator , Hannah Cox, at hannah.cox@rso.com or call 540.343.6221 x.231

String Ensemble

The String Ensemble, under the direction of Ms. Michelle Smith, is comprised of beginning-to-intermediate string players, ages 8-15, who rehearse weekly on Tuesdays in Roanoke and perform concerts in public concerts throughout the year. Formerly known as the Junior Strings, the String Ensemble was founded in 1985. Many young string players, after achieving an appropriate level of skill, successfully audition to become members of the RYSO. For many young string players, participation in these ensembles is the first and only opportunity to begin playing in an ensemble under the direction of an experienced conductor.

For more information, contact Community Engagement Education Coordinator, Hannah Cox, at hannah.cox@rso.com or call 540.343.6221 x.231

Recommended Music Teachers

Violin

Camellia Delk
540-397-707

Jared Hall
540-759-6370
jarednhall@gmail.com
Roanoke

Martin Irving
540-397-1479
Salem

Fawn Kesselring
540-397-0707

 

Liz Lochbrunner
(Beginner/Intermediate)
540-520-9976
Roanoke

Bryan Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Kevin Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Nicole Paglialonga
772-332-8397
Blacksburg

Carolyn Peterson
(Beginner/Intermediate)
540-520-7733
Roanoke

Molly Stanley
828-400-3569
mmstanley@rcps.info

Viola

Martin Irving
540-397-1479
Salem
Liz Lochbrunner
540-520-9976
Roanoke
Bryan Matheson
540-577-4916
Roanoke/Christiansburg

Cello

Hannah Cox
716-255-1407
hannahcoxcello@gmail.com

David Feldman
540-797-7878
Lynchburg

Justin Hall
540-759-6368
justinalexanderhall@gmail.com

 

Bass

Harp

Morgan Short
540-798-9546
harpsong4u@aol.com

Guitar

Grant Fox
540-397-0707

Mike Havens
540-355-0806
mhavens@rcps.info
Roanoke

Kris Hale
540-397-0707
khale@radford.edu
Roanoke

Tim Stafford
540-397-0707

Alyssa Osorio
540-397-0707

Banjo

Kris Hale
540-397-0707

Mandolin

Kris Hale
540-397-0707

Dulcimer

Kris Hale
540-397-0707

Alyssa Osorio
540-397-0707

Flute

Julee Hickcox
540-985-9112
Roanoke

Sarah Wardle Jones
540-632-0172
sarahwardlejones@gmail.com
Roanoke/Henry Co.

Deborah Kemper
540-521-2184
djkemper@comcast.net
Salem

Vicki Scarratt
540-392-7800
vscarratt@gmail.com
Roanoke/Franklin Co.

Tim Stafford
540-397-0707

Oboe

Meredith McCree
832-655-5478
mmcree@alumni.rice.edu
Blacksburg

Jenny Quakenbush
540-772-2262
Roanoke

Clarinet

Jeff Midkiff
jmidkiff@rcps.info
Roanoke

Alyssa Osorio
540-397-0707

Michelle Smith
kmsmith@rcps.info
Roanoke

Tim Stafford
540-397-0707

Elisha Willinger
203-645-7698
ElishaWillinger.com
elisha.w28@gmail.com
Roanoke

Saxophone

Alyssa Osorio
540-397-0707

Tim Stafford
540-397-0707

Bassoon

Barbara Duke
540-382-6694

Ryan Romine
rromine@su.edu
Winchester

Rebecca Wilson
540-525-1560
bmms@mailbox.org
Roanoke

Voice

Farrah Boothe
540-397-0707

Trumpet

Tim Sherman
540-397-0707

Tim Stafford
540-397-0707

Trombone

Tim Sherman
540-397-0707

French Horn

Alex Schmitt
703-593-6629
Roanoke

Tim Sherman
540-397-0707

Tuba

Percussion

Gavin Marchon
540-397-0707

Piano

Elizabeth Bachelder
bachelde@roanoke.edu
Roanoke

Sarah O’Brien
thepianoschool@gmail.com
Salem

Roma Scriven
musicnotes@cox.net
Roanoke

Erica Sipes
540-556-2677
ericasipes1@gmail.com
Roanoke

Megan Vaughn
540-655-2712
meganvaughn01@icloud.com
Radford